Friday, May 24, 2013

As Sure as the Dawn by Francine Rivers

As Sure as the Dawn is the third and final book of this series.  It continues the story of a character from the first book, Atretes.  He is a German warrior who was enslaved by the Romans and forced to fight as a Gladiator.

This book introduces new characters and fully develops some that we were just introduced to in the first book.  Atretes only had a few short interactions with the heroine of this series, Haddasah, but they had a profound affect on him.  They frequently flash back to them in this book.  Atretes was a hard man before becoming a Gladiator and having his heart broken by Julia Valerian, but those two things have really hardened his heart.  But God places some people in his life that are able to show him kindness, even when he is being a jerk, and speak Truth to him.  Will he make it back to Germany and escape everything he hates about Rome?  I guess you will have to read the series to find out!

Loved this one too!  5 out of 5 stars!  What are you waiting for?  Read. these. books. now.

Echo in the Darkness by Francine Rivers

Echo in the Darkness is the second book in The Mark of the Lion series and I loved this book too!

I'm not going to say too much about this one because I don't want to give away any spoilers.  The story of the Valerians continues.  You see the effect Hadassah had on all of their lives and where it takes each of them.  Marcus retreats from everyone on a long journey to process everything that happened in the first book.  Julia's actions continue to catch up to her and she starts to learn some hard lessons.  This book felt more heavy.  All the characters were dealing with and going through a lot.  But the same undercurrent carries the stories through.

I will say I loved the ending of this one!

Again 5 out of 5 stars!  And seriously- read. this. series. now.

Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers

I LOVED this book!  Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers is a book that will stay with me for a long time.  I have recommended this book (and the whole series) to so many people and the two girls that already finished loved them!  The rest of y'all need to get on it because seriously this series is that good!

This one sentance summary from sums it up pretty well:

In an ancient culture frighteningly similar to modern-day America, a young slave girl fights to save the family -- and the man -- she has grown to love.

This book is the story of Hadassah.  She's a young Jewish girl by blood but Christian by faith in Christ.  The story opens with her home Jerusalem being destroyed by the Roman army.  Her family is killed and she is made a prisoner and then sold as a slave to the wealthy Valerian family.  This family has issues.  Marcus is a young man who is trying to build a name and wealth for himself apart from his father who he disagrees with and resents.  Julia is...crazy.  She is a young girl who does what she wants, when she wants, and rebels against just about anything and everything.  The poor mom is torn between them all.  And Hadassah serves this family faithfully and lovingly.  So much happens in this book:  arranged marriages, death, abortion, love, hate, violence, just about anything and everything you could think of.  And Hadassah is just such a great example through it all of how to live you life for God- putting your faith and future completely in His hands and trusting him- while loving people (even when they are unlovable) and just living your life with integrity no matter the circumstances.

It is seriously so good!  Definitely 5 out of 5 stars!  I highly recommend this book and series!!
Add to Technorati Favorites